a media experience

Being Friends

Friends love you for who you are, but push you to be better.

Your true friends will love you and accept you as you are, but they will never let you be satisfied with your current place in life. They know that, as great as you are, there is always room for improvement. Sometimes that means pressing you to improve your social life, your grades, your interpersonal communication, your ambitions, your temper, etc. (I would go on, but these are starting to hit too close to home for me….)

I know that, personally, I always need someone to pressure me to better myself. If my life were entirely up to me, I would probably still be working at Starbucks and eating $1 frozen pizzas for dinner when I ran out of mac and cheese.

I’m thankful that I have friends that have pushed me. I may not have liked it at the time (in fact, I may have lashed out), but in retrospect, my life is better because of those friends.

So next time someone close to you tells you something that you don’t want to hear, listen to them. They just might be showing you how much they love you.

Leave a comment